Care Act 2014

Skills for Care is the strategic development body for adult social care workers in England, and is responsible for setting the standards – the Care Act Standards 2014 (CAS) – for people entering adult social care.

CAS were developed to meet the requirements of the General Social Care Council Code of Practice. Since October 2006 they have formed the national minimum standard requirements, specified by the Care Quality Commission (CQC), for all new care staff.

CAS form the basis for social care staff registration throughout England, and are required to be met within the 12-week induction period that employers must provide for all new care staff.

CAS are linked to NVQ Health and Social Care Study Programmes, and provide preparatory training for entry into those programmes.

CAS will:

  • Provide a structured start for new care staff
  • Enable care workers to provide high quality care and support
  • Provide recognition for care workers in their chosen vocation
  • Prepare care workers for entry into NVQ Health and Social Care Study Programmes

3 Day Training Course

This 3-day course for all new care staff is designed to help the employer meet the CAS requirements. It will provide participants with basic coverage of each of the 15 Standards, with the exception of the employment based workplace training and induction requirements.

Participants need no prior knowledge or experience. They will gain a basic knowledge of the CAS requirements, which will be assessed at the end of the course. A copy of the assessment and its results will be given to the employer together with certificates showing the areas covered.

Training courses covering the following Standards:



  • This unit is assessed through written and oral questions and professional discussion